ft podcast: DC Comics 52 Pick-Up – Week One

September 8, 2011 § 4 Comments

From Swamp Thing #1, art by Yanick Paquette

Timmy Wood checks in to discuss the act of reading comics digitally as well as the first full week of #1 issues from the DC relaunch. This week: Action Comics, Animal Man, Batgirl, Batwing, Detective Comics, Green Arrow, Hawk and Dove, Justice League International, Men of War, OMAC, Static Shock, Stormwatch and Swamp Thing!

Download this episode.

Read Paul’s text reviews on iFanboy.com.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to ft podcast: DC Comics 52 Pick-Up – Week One

  • Hello. Hello. Hello. Dave, you should know that I am hard at work on the art for our book. Now that that’s out of the way, let me say this. This is the first of the Fuzzytypewriter podcasts I have listened to. I loved all the reviews. Having only picked up Justice League, Animal Man and Swamp Thing, it was nice to hear what I did, or didn’t miss. Having agreed with what you said about the ones I did read, you narrowed down what I need to pick up for sure.
    Let me now talk about Rob Liefeld. I was the perfect age in the early 90’s when he began his run on New Mutants. He was my hero. I watched MTV with my finger on the rec button on the VCR so I could have the Levis 501 commercial for all time. Maybe because it was new and dynamic for the time. I even paid $50 for the 1st appearance of Cable. Dumb. I felt like it was somewhere around Youngblood that I started noticing the ever ballooning anatomy and two left feet. TWO LEFT FEET!!! It only seemed to get worse from there. I was addicted to Mt. Dew around the same time. I drank somewhere around a twelve pack a day. Now, I can’t even look at the green, white and red color combo without breaking into a heaving sweat. I feel that way about Rob Liefeld as well. His lack of general care for his craft seems to only get worse. I just don’t get it. It seemed like he disappeared for a while and I was hoping he would pull a Robert Johnson and be absolutely amazing and reborn when he came back. This did not happen. I don’t mean to sound evil and crass. I have nothing against him as a person, but, why is he still working with the utter carelessness he puts into his work?

    • fuzzytypewriter says:

      Hey Chris,

      Glad you liked the show!

      I have to believe the Liefeld thing comes down the nostalgia. We’re both in the same boat in that we embraced that style back in the day but look back on it now with a wince. There’s a lot of readers out there who look back on those days fondly though, and many even admit it’s a guilty pleasure, but a pleasure nonetheless. It’s a head shaker, but whatever makes people happy.

      Fangs! He had fangs!

      –Paul

  • m.i.milliman says:

    i have never read a Liefeld book, but i’ve seen that infamous Cap boob drawing and know enough by listing to good people like yourselfs giving me the heads up, not to go near it.

    Animal Man sounds really good. i wait for trade (i know, i’m part of the problem) but i may check this out in issue. Travel Foreman took over art duties on Immortal Iron Fist when Aja left and at first i hated it. but after going back to it i started to really dig it. its an odd style that isnt for every title but this sounds like a good book for him. he has had lateness issues in the past and i hope it doesnt carry over here.

    btw. im in the middle of Gone Away World but i wanted to catch up on this bookclub thing, but cant remember the next book. can somebody please let me know. thanks.

  • NunoXEI says:

    Scott Snyder has easily become my favorite writer of all time. Easily.

    Jeff Lemire might be the surprise competitor. I’ve heard so much about Lemire’s stuff and WILL check it all out eventually via trades… being a Canadian creator supporter and all :)… Animal Man might have flipped me.

    Great opinions and back-and-forths! Nice alternative to iFanboy and always good to get another set of comic reviews and opinions!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ft podcast: DC Comics 52 Pick-Up – Week One at Fuzzy Typewriter.

meta

