what i’m reading: fall 2010 edition

September 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m a bit of a flirt when it comes to reading. The filing cabinet heaped with books I keep next to my bed ought to be called a one night stand. But I’m going to try to commit to a few choice tomes now that the best reading weather is upon us. Here are six books I was pretty stoked to find on my doorstep–the mailman actually left them in my empty recycling bin–just this morning.

The Bradbury Chronicles by Sam Weller

You won’t believe me, but this doesn’t have anything to do with the music video. I only recently got into the man’s short stories (the new Everyman’s collection is incredible). And yes, there was the video. But I think the guy’s a true word whisperer. No matter what he says about my beloved internet.

Afrodisiac by Jim Rugg

I’m likely the last earthly comic fan to indulge in the Afrodisiac, but it is now mine. If it’s half as fun to read as Black Dynamite was to watch, this’ll be the tops.

Both Ways is the Only Way I Want It by Maile Meloy

This short story collection’s a recent darling with the critics, but I first heard about it by way of Maile’s brother, the frontman for The Decemberists. While Colin is my favorite musical storyteller outside of Sondheim, I’m not going into this book looking for castaways or cutouts. Just good stories. And from the sample I’ve already read, I think I’m already a fan of this Meloy’s minimalist voice.

Storyteller: The Authorized Biography of Roald Dahl by Donald Sturrock

Here’s where I find out just how enormous a dick my all-time favorite writer truly was. Ah, well.

The Best American Crime Reporting 2010 edited by Stephen J. Dubner

Of all the Best American collections out each fall, this is probably the one I love most. This one’s got another great piece from David Grann (The Lost City of Z) about a particularly heartbreaking arson case. It’s one of the best pieces of reporting I’ve ever read, and at this point I’ve got it in two separate volumes. Great, compelling stories of real life lowlifes.

The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects by Mike Mignola

I’ve never read the original Screw-On Head story, though I did see the cartoon. Mignola will always rank among my favorite visual storytellers, so this was a gap in my library that demanded filling. Weird, Steampunk and Victoriana at their finest from the looks of things.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading what i’m reading: fall 2010 edition at Fuzzy Typewriter.

meta

